*

20 People wrote to us:

Almost 4 years later and I’m still rating this place a 5. Consistently great haircuts and Lorena is a pleasure to see every time. She is talented and creates whatever style you would like. My last review stays true!

April 25, 2018

Thank you to Mila for a great cut. I appreciate the care and effort as well as your wonderful attitude. Happy holidays!

December 16, 2017

Melvis Alessandro did a phenomenal job with my styling. I had a very important event and my hair was a disaster. He saw my big mess of hair just as a painter sees a canvas, or as a sculptor sees a block of marble.

December 3, 2017

This place is a hidden gem! I don’t think I’ve ever come out of a haircut feeling so confident. Lorena is a master! I’ve gotten partial highlights here before and loved them every time, but decided to do something a little more drastic and go full highlights and a new cut. Lorena stayed well past closing time to make sure my hair looked flawless. You can tell she is a perfectionist.

October 12, 2017

Haydee, she cut my hair for more than 10 years and she is very professional and amazing person, also the owner Lorena she is so friendly!

August 17, 2017

Heidi is the best! This place is a bit pricey but they do very professional work. I always leave happy.

July 2, 2017

Good service. Lorena really listened to my vision of what I wanted my hair to look like -which was really important after numerous run-ins with stylists who cared more about their ideas than me – and made it into a really nice look. I couldn’t be happier.

July 1, 2017

I’ve been coming to Universal Hair Studios since I moved to D.C and so glad that I discovered it. It’s not the most glamorous of salons but the service and prices are great. What keeps me coming back, in particular, is Melvis, who I can’t recommend highly enough. He is very friendly, extremely committed to the satisfaction of his clients, and does a great job with my haircuts. Also, he gives great head massages! Overall, highly recommended. They’ve recently applied a $1 charge for credit cards so bring cash.

May 3, 2017

Lorena took good care of my teenager friend. She was donating hair and she made her feel very comfortable and did a wonderful job! Very pleasant!

April 28, 2017

Haydee did such an amazing job with the color without me sitting under the headlamp! I was quite impressed with her techniques, especially the wash & head massage. If you don’t need any cuts or coloring, just stop by and ask for her head massages – Highly recommended!

February 22, 2017

Went there first time relying on high yelp star rating. Very fine work. Highly impressed. I got few compliments actually for the haircut. FYI, The men’s haircut is $25 plus $1 if you are using a credit card.

February 14, 2017

Moved to Columbia Heights recently and stumbled across Universal Hair Salon. I’ve gone there twice now and I’ve had AMAZING haircuts from both Melvis and Tony!! I just get a standard men’s haircut, but these guys have done a better job than any place I’ve ever been to. This place gets !!

December 17, 2016

Haydee is amazing! Super sweet, knows what she is doing (seriously). I am a (former) Hugo’s salon customer and I have to say, I LOVE HAYDEE. She thinned out my hair, gave me the long bob with chunky layers as requested. She was just great. Decent pricing and amazing. I was terrified to go any close to short and after my cut, I am all about it. I put my trust in her and she definitely came through. I loved that we could both actually talk about the cut and she gave me her opinion as to what worked with my face shape (the last thing I wanted was a short cut and a fat face– EITHER/OR!. HA). I highly recommend her and definitely will be back as a regular (sorry Hugo’s). 🙂

November 18, 2016

I went to Universal Hair Salon as a personal recommendation to have Lorena style my hair….. I love my haircut and highlights!

November 18, 2016

Today I got the best haircut of my life from Lorena! It was my first time at Universal and my first time getting my haircut in DC since moving here. It was a busy Saturday, and I arrived early. Lorena shuffled the schedule a bit and took me right away, bumping down the old lady before me who was late. It’s ok, they gave her a coffee so she was happy being bumped down. I also got a yummy mug of coffee. Lorena was super nice and seemed to care about my hair. I just wanted a few inches trimmed off, nothing special. She asked if I’d like to do something to “make the hair move.” I was hesitant, but she convinced me that it would be good. Ok Lorena, I trust you! She worked very quickly, and it kind of reminded me of a top chef with her scissors and comb. The end result was BEAUTIFUL! She blew it out until I looked like a hair commercial. My hair is also super shiny and soft now.

November 5, 2016

Universal Hair Salon is one of the best in the world. I’ve had the opportunity to live abroad and in lived in several states and experienced hundreds of barbers and hair stylist and Milagro is amongst the best. I went a year looking for the right barber or stylist and found her. Plus I grew up in DC and seen some great stylist. Uno de Los mejores salones de Belleza y un tremendo equipo de estilistas! Gracias!!!

August 5, 2016

This is one of those hole in the wall salons with hidden talent. When you are tired of everyone getting it wrong this is the place! My stylist is Haydee– my style is a Haydee original– she listened to what I wanted but also gave input as to what worked with my facial features — must visit it’s like everyone is family coming in for a visit to catch up and leaving looking great doesn’t hurt either.

July 30, 2016

Book your appointment with Johny Vasquez!!! I highly recommend it!! P.S. He is also very great with eyebrows!

May 29, 2016

could keep it short and just call this the best haircut I’ve ever gotten in DC but it wouldn’t do this place justice. In search of a go-to haircut, I’ve been to a lot of places in the Columbia Heights/ Adams Morgan area. Universal is EASILY the best I’ve ever gotten. For $20 I got a quality cut, hair wash & “re-stylize”. Johnny, the dude that cut my hair was inviting, friendly and professional. He even gave me some tips for upkeep.
Definitely will be back and recommend my friends.

March 5, 2016

Mila is so nice and gave me such a nice haircut, ella es artista! My hair is so pretty now!

September 20, 2015

"This salon is a hidden gem in Adams Morgan."

Sarah K.
I got a wash, cut, and blow out for $40, and it was probably the best I've ever had! Melvis is an absolute professional. Not only is he ridiculously nice, but he's AMAZING at what he does. It's so nice to see someone so invested in their craft. I'll be going to see him as long as he's working there!

"A wonderful experience!"

M L.
Really great price and friendly atmosphere! Plus, Lorena was able to take exactly what I was describing for my hair and make it happen. I will definitely be a regular there!

“I am satisfied and I will recommend him to any of my friends”

Chady M.

I am a male and had long hair for almost 12 years. I was hesitant before cutting it. I looked online for a hairdresser in DC and had no concern about the location nor the price. After reading about Melvis at Universal Hair Salon I decided to go there. I had a perfect experience. He was professional, listened to my concern, considerate, and went through every step before he cut my hair.